IntheBullseye.com  

Go Back   IntheBullseye.com > Hot Reads ...In the Bullseye > The Texans

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2009, 02:55 AM
Fonz the Boss Fonz the Boss is offline
Regular Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy P View Post
The Jacoby Jones TD was an incomplete pass since he went to the ground and lost the ball on the ground. Will be waiting to hear what Mike Pereira has to say about that one.
It all started with the overruled TD that the Raiders had against the Chargers that could have been a game winner..... The NFL reviewed that play and I think from now until the end of the season once the catch is made in the end zone and possession is established then that is the end of the play. Another way to see this type of play is when a receiver catches and establishes possession of the ball at the 5 yard line then dives to the pylon and loses the ball when he knocks the pylon with the ball. The pylon play ends once you score the TD. Similarly, when you catch a ball in the end zone and establish possession then that should end that play.... Thats why the play wasnt overruled.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:46 AM
papabear papabear is offline
Regular Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fonz the Boss View Post
Similarly, when you catch a ball in the end zone and establish possession then that should end that play.... Thats why the play wasnt overruled.
In the endzone the rule is that the WR has to maintain possession through contact with the ground.His knee had already hit the ground but in the endzone you have to have possession all the way to the ground...a knee isn't enough in other words. The contact with the ground stipulation was fulfilled when Jacoby landed on the DB. He lost the ball after he "bounced" off the DB and went to the ground a second time.
__________________
"Well, at least our players kept their helmets on, so that showed some intelligence"-BobMcNair
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2009, 01:01 PM
Fonz the Boss Fonz the Boss is offline
Regular Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papabear View Post
In the endzone the rule is that the WR has to maintain possession through contact with the ground.His knee had already hit the ground but in the endzone you have to have possession all the way to the ground...a knee isn't enough in other words. The contact with the ground stipulation was fulfilled when Jacoby landed on the DB. He lost the ball after he "bounced" off the DB and went to the ground a second time.
I replayed this catch again and if thats the case then the ball had broken the plane when his knee had hit the ground before he was spun and landed in the endzone. That means it was determined by the refs that possession was established outside the endzone, his knee hit the ground but the ball was already crossing the plane so that ended the play as a TD.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.